"The success of love is in the loving" – Mother Teresa

Casa Havilah

A river watering the garden flowed from Eden; from there it was separated into four headwaters. The name of the first is the Pishon; it winds through the entire land of Havilah, where there is gold. ::. Genesis 2:10-12.

When I first heard about Casa Havilah I assumed Havilah was a Spanish word for something. But when I asked Mr. Buzbee (the mastermind behind this mission) he told me that Havilah was a section of land in the Garden of Eden. For those of you who bought, or just got a glimpse of the photo book I created to raise money to live here, I based my title on Ecclesiates 3, “There is a time for everything and a season for every activity under the sun…A time to plant and a time to uproot.” Now is my time to plant and what better place to plant than in the land of Havilah, where there is gold.

I have almost made my first week here at Casa Havilah and I have to admit, it’s been tougher than I expected. It’s not the bucket showers or the constant accumulation of dirt that mysteriously keeps developing under my finger nails…or even the mosquitos that, thanks to my mom, absolutely love my blood. What’s tough is planting myself in someone else’s home, a home that happens to belong to 13 “hard knock” girls. The girls here range from age 5-17 and they have one (very brave) house mom, who’s actually one year younger than I am. Most of them have experienced or have been at risk of experiencing some form of sexual abuse and therefor leaves them guarded and untrusting. I don’t yet know the psychology behind such traumas but I hope that as I do learn I will also begin to connect with each girl and eventually gain her trust. It’s actually the older girls who don’t trust. It’s taken the five days that I’ve been here to finally not feel the glare of evil eyes every time I walk into a room.

I can’t quite say that I love it here yet. But I think thats ok. There’s a lot of unstructured time here that I hope to start building, and when I’m joined by another American girl in a few days hopefully that construction of time will grow stronger and faster. I can say that my heart is melting more and more each and every day for these girls. They so desperately need love and attention and I so desperately want to give it all to them. But only one step at a time.

The next few posts I will be talking about each girl individually. Today I was at my computer with two girls and they were asking me to look up the meanings of each girls name in the house and it was really cool to see how the meanings really matched up with these girls’ personalities. So I’ll be including that too. My posts won’t be this long every time, don’t worry. There’s a lot of ground to cover with a first-ever blog post. I hope you’ll keep following, it’s going to be quite the adventure!

6 responses

  1. Jackie Maxie

    I think it’s wonderful what you’re doing Lily,
    I will continue to pray,trusting that God will lead you as you go thru your journey. Such beautiful girls and I pray that they will be blessed also!
    I’m so Godly proud of you 🙂
    Love ya Sis!
    Jackie

    ps yes it’s pretty early here, like 4:22am couldn’t sleep; but believe me, I will be in Church later on, getting my Praise On

    August 29, 2010 at 8:23 am

  2. hazel

    lily, I LOVE your photos… am excited to hear your updates as you continue on this incredible journey…

    August 29, 2010 at 9:10 am

  3. sally plourde

    the verse from genesis brought tears to my eyes. why am i always amazed at what god does in our lives??? you went to campo alegria to get to casa havilah to be blessed and to bring blessings. savor this journey, my dearest daughter.

    August 29, 2010 at 3:27 pm

  4. Pastor Lavette R. Paige

    Dear Lily,

    I really enjoyed reading your blog. I can almost visualize you as you interact with the girls. You have such a sweet loving spirit that is extremely contagious. They may not say it – but they feel it – they feel your love and your compassion!
    Our service was great yesterday. I can’t wait until we can do a live stream on the internet so you can stay connected on Sunday mornings. However, first we have to get a webpage!!! It’s coming (smile).

    Love you much!
    Pastor Paige

    August 30, 2010 at 4:38 pm

  5. deebo

    i love the photos; you really capture their personalities…..there’s just something so natural to the way they interact with the camera. thanks for sharing your story and your continued adventure…..it’s such a blessing!

    congratulations; we’re all so proud of you!

    August 31, 2010 at 5:38 am

  6. Annelle

    Lily, as a friend of your Mom’s, I’m excited to be connected with you and the girl’s through this wonderful site (blog). Remember, how He is partial to each one of us as you as you develop relationships with each of the young ladies. I pray for a great harvest in Havilah… and that you experience His peace and love each day.

    Your sister in Christ,
    Annelle

    September 1, 2010 at 7:12 pm

Leave a comment